Rain, Rain

20130612-175313.jpg
Rainy day in Texas. Typical of a summer day. Me and the kids were ready for baseball practice when we heard thunder while the sun was out. The sky grew dark and scary in a very short time.

I can remember as a small child playing with my brothers on a rainy day. I loved the way the rain smelled, and the way it looked outside. I used to sit right by the window and just watch the raindrops roll down the window sill. I would open the window and smell the rain. I can almost remember the musky smell. My children now are amazed at how I can sit outside in the patio and not be afraid.

I would’ve loved to still go to baseball practice and just sit under the pavilion and watch the rain. Baseball rules and regulations would not allow practice, however there’s no rule against watching.

We will try again tomorrow says the Coach. Maybe we will be surprised again by the rain.

Leave a Reply

